Barrett C. Nichols Memorial Tournament Results

The second event of the 2019 season took place at Boothbay Harbor Country Club in Boothbay, Maine. Members were treated to an unbelievable experience on a wonderful redesign course!About half the participants took advantage of the Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort, located right on Boothbay Harbor! Boothbay Harbor will certainly be a repeat venue for the NESGA!

Congratulations to our winners Bob Costello, Michael Costello, Ken Hintlian and new member Bob Amoroso! The team from just outside of Boston shot a 118 (-24) in the two best ball of four net aggregate to edge the field by four strokes! 

(From L to R) Bob Amoroso, Ken Hintlian, Michael Costello, Bob Costello

 To view all results from the 2019 Barrett C. Nichols Memorial Tournament please CLICK HERE

Perron C. Jarboe Memorial Tournament Results

After years of rainy and cold weather, the NESGA finally lucked out with some great weather at Woodland Golf Club and Brae Burn Country Club. The championship came down to the last hole where Ron Soderman made a birdie to capture the title over defending champion Aram Hintlian. Ron shot a +13 (157).

Ron Soderman

The Paul J. Carey Championship represents the low net 36 hole score. The winner of the 2019 title was Brae Burn’s own , Bruce Lowney. Doc, as he is called by his peers at Brae Burn, shot a -4 (140).

Bruce Lowney

The President’s Trophy is unique to the New England Senior Golfers’ Association. It is awarded to the player over age 70 whose best round is best in relation to his age. Joe Monahan played splendid golf over the two day event and shot 78 on Tuesday at Brae Burn to earn the title.

Joe Monahan

 To view all results from the 2019 Perron C. Jarboe Memorial Tournament, please CLICK HERE to be taken to the Jarboe Golf Genius Portal.





Tournament Registration Dates Announced

April 16, 2019 10:00am- Perron C. Jarboe Memorial Tournament (June 3-4, Woodland GC & Brae Burn CC)

May 30, 2019- Barrett C. Nichols Memorial Tournament (July 15, Boothbay Harbor CC) (Optional 2nd day at The Ledges July 16)

May 30, 2019- Clifton Larson Memorial Tournament (August 19, Rhode Island CC)

May 30, 2019- W. Royce Taylor Tournament (September 16, 2019, Cape Club of Sharon)

August 21, 2019- Coakley-Stimets Memorial Tournament (October 8-9, Oyster Harbors Club & Wianno Club)


2019 Sites

After a successful 2018 schedule that saw 4 events played. We are excited to announce our 2019 schedule.

June 3-4

The New England Seniors’ oldest tradition will continue with the Jarboe on June 3rd and 4th at Woodland Golf Club and Brae Burn Country Club in Newton, MA. The Jarboe dinner will be held at Woodland Golf Club after play on Monday.

July 15 – Tee Times starting at 9:50am

For the first time in the history of the NESGA, we will be hosting an event on July 15th at Boothbay Harbors Country Club in Boothbay Harbors, ME.

Boothbay Region Country Club opened its first 9 holes in 1921. Playing the course immediately became a favorite pastime for the vacationers to the area. The 9-hole gem designed by Stiles and Van Kleek expanded to 18 holes in 1999 and has recently gone through a complete redesign by renowned course architect Bruce Hepner as part of a multi-million dollar renovation by new owner Paul Coulombe. Completed and re-opened in May of 2016, the Boothbay Harbor Country Club is a world-class facility, housing a 5-star restaurant, sports bar and grille, outdoor heated seating with fire pit, a proshop, and luxury locker rooms.

For those members that will be attending the event there will be hotel rooms available at the Boothbay Harbors Resort.

August 19- Shotgun Starting at 12:30pm

A  mainstay in Golf Digest’s Top 10 golf courses in the state of Rhode Island. This 1911 Donald Ross gem combines parkland golf with stretches of scenic holes that run along Narragansett Bay. Since our last NESGA event here in 2012, RICC has done many renovations included removing over 300 trees.

September 16- Shotgun Starting at 12:30pm

The last time the NESGA visited Spring Valley Country Club was in 1998. Since then the course has gone through many changes, including a name change. In 2006, The Cape Club of Sharon underwent an extensive renovation led by renowned course architect Craig Schreiner whose work includes notable courses such as Oak Hill Country Club in New York, Firestone Country Club in Ohio, and Oakland Hills Country Club in Michigan. This renovation included a redesign of the green complexes and greenside bunkering, improved drainage, 20 new tee boxes and an advanced irrigation system. The W. Royce Taylor Tournament will be held on September 19, 2019

October 8-9

And of course, last but not least, one of the most popular events, The Coakley-Stimets Memorial Tournament will be held at Oyster Harbors Club and The Wianno Club on October 8th and 9th. Located in Osterville, MA, these two Donald Ross designs boast views and golf unmatched by many courses in New England.




News & Updates

  • Jarboe Championship - Oyster Harbors Club/Wianno Club
    Jarboe Championship – Oyster Harbors Club/Wianno Club
    Due to the earlier inclement weather cancellation this June, the 2017 Perron C. Jarboe Memorial Championship was conducted simultaneously with the playing of the Coakley-Stimets tournament on October 10th & 11th at Oyster Harbors Club and Wianno Club in Osterville, Massachusetts. Both course were in terrific condition...
    Read more
  • Coakley-Stimets - Oyster Harbors Club/Wianno Club
    Coakley-Stimets – Oyster Harbors Club/Wianno Club
    The 2017 NESGA tournament schedule concluded October 10th & 11th with the Coakley-Stimets Memorial Championship at Oyster Harbors Club and Wianno Club on Cape Cod under fair skies and accompanied by warm temperatures. Both courses were in wonderful condition and tested the skills of a full field...
    Read more
  • Taylor - Cummaquid GC
    Taylor – Cummaquid GC
    W. Royce Taylor Tournament September 13th, 2017 Cummaquid Golf Club Tournament Results Gross Champions John Kelleher & Bob Reni  (73) Net Champions Bob Alexander & David Weil  (58)*   Runners Up Net Jim McCormick & Trevor McGill  (58)* Third Place Net Burt Abel & David McLean (58)*  Long...
    Read more
  • Brae Burn One Day Tournament
    Brae Burn One Day Tournament
    Brae Burn One Day Tournament August 28th, 2017 Brae Burn Country Club Tournament Results  Champions Steve Craige Tony Jalbert Bill Schuler (118) Runners Up Father Skip Baltz Carmine DiAdamo David Morton Jack Stephenson (120)  Third Place Rick Lodewick David McLean Roland West Howard Woollard (123) Long Drive...
    Read more
  • Larson - Kernwood Country Club
    Larson – Kernwood Country Club
    Clifton C. Larson Memorial Championship August 7th, 2017 Kernwood Country Club  Tournament Results   Champion Michael Garner (+6) Runner Up Tim McCarthy (+3)* Gold Star Group (80+) 1st Place – Ed Heisler (+2)* Runner Up – Charlie Swanson (+2) AA Group (75-79) 1st Place – Jack Kordash...
    Read more
  • Nichols - Vesper Country Club
    Nichols – Vesper Country Club
    The 2017 Barrett C. Nichols Championship was contested under sunny skies on a classic Donald Ross course at Vesper Country Club on Monday, July 10th. The course was pristine as was the field of 120 players. The tournament results are as follows: 1st Place Gross – John...
    Read more